Find out how we're dealing with Covid-19
Read more

Revd. Leisa Potter, Team Vicar for Freshwater, Yarmouth and Totland Bay


email:   Tel: 01983 753078

Please note:  Currently as Team Vicar of Freshwater, Yarmouth and Totland Bay, Leisa normally works from Saturday to Thursday inclusive. She is not available on Fridays, except in an emergency.

Thank you for your consideration.


West Wight Mission Community


Team Rector: Revd. Jackie Maw

Team Vicar: Revd. Leisa Potter


Christ Church Lay Ministry Team

Several of our congregation have undertaken Lay Leadership Training through the Isle of Wight Deanery to enable them to support Leisa and the wider church community.

Permission to Officiate

Supporting retired clergy: 



Church Wardens

Peter Byatt  – email:

Geoff Kirk –



Denis Gosden, Church Office, Christ Church, Alum Bay New Road, Totland Bay PO39 0ES
email:     Tel: (m) 07582 861966

Officers of the Parochial Church Council (PCC)

Team Vicar (Chair) Revd Leisa Potter

Church Wardens: Mr Peter Byatt, Mr Geoff Kirk

Secretary: Mrs Jane Walton

Treasurer: Mrs Lesley Kirk


Diocesan Synod Reps: Mr. Maurice Sheen, Mrs. Lizzie Hutchinson

Electoral Roll Officer: Mr Robin Gosden

PCC Standing Committee: Revd. Leisa Potter, Peter Byatt, Geoff Kirk, Lesley Kirk, Tom Eggeling, Robin Gosden

PCC Members and their special responsibilities:

The PCC Members are your voice at the Christ Church PCC Meetings. If you have a concern or wish to comment (good and bad) about how things are done or raise an issue, please speak to one of your PCC members who will try and deal with your concern or comment directly. If you wish to raise an issue or concern at PCC level please write to the PCC Secretary as follows:

By post : The PCC Secretary, Christ Church Totland Bay, Alum Bay New Road,  Totland Bay, Isle of Wight. PO39 0ES




PCC Sub Groups

Much of the Parish business is conducted by small sub groups dealing with  Ministry and Mission, Buildings and Churchyard, Admin and Personnel, Finance and Fund raising. These sub groups comprise PCC members and involve other church members where appropriate.

Mr Peter Byatt – Christ Church Deanery Synod Rep.

Mr Geoff Kirk – Acting chairman of Administration and Personnel Group. Chairman of the Church Re-Ordering Fund-Raising Group.

Mrs Lesley Kirk – Chair of Finance and Fundraising Group

Mr Neil Walker – Christ Church Organist; Christ Church Deanery Synod Rep.

Mr Tom Eggeling – Christ Church Rep for CTWW Youth Project; Chairman of the Buildings and Churchyard Group.

Mr Robin Gosden – Electoral Roll Officer (; Member of the Buildings and Churchyard Group; Member of the Church Website Team. Cemetery Warden (e-mail:

Mr Denis Gosden – Church Administrator; Data Compliance Officer; Member of the Admin and Personnel Group; Member of the Church Website Team.

Mrs Margaret Byatt – Member of the Pastoral Care Team; Christ Church Rep. for CTWW; Member of the Admin and Personnel Group.

Mrs Lizzie Hutchinson – Deanery Synod Rep, Member of the Admin and Personnel Group. Member of the Church Re-Ordering Fund-Raising Group.

Mr Maurice Sheen – Deanery Synod Rep, Member of the Church Re-Ordering Fund-Raising Group.

Non PCC Member with Special Responsibilities

Christ Church Verger: Vacancy

Ms Alison Grieve – Prayer Chain Leader / Coordinator, Safeguarding Officer

Mr Richard Britton – Christ Church Music Director.

Mrs Lorraine Lord – Junior Church Leader

Mrs Hazel Britton – Communications (parish magazine, weekly notices, Facebook, website); Hon Secretary of Churches Together in West Wight.

The PCC normally meets every 4 weeks throughout the year, with a meeting of Parishioners and the Parochial Church Meeting occurring annually.



The Church Patronage Trust

The Church Patronage Trust, established in 1871, exercises sole patronage of 64 parishes and joint patronage of 61 parishes. It is one of the larger evangelical patronage bodies and most of its parishes are located in the Midlands and South of England. The CPT seeks to support the local church and its work is focussed on strengthening the evangelistic/pastoral ministry exercised in the parish.